• Published by: Denis CHRETIEN
  • Print this page

Factors involved in the regulation of microtubule dynamic instability

Dynamic instability is finely regulated in vivo by several proteins, and allows rapid spatial changes of the microtubule cytoskeleton during the cell cycle. One striking example is the complete reorganisation of the interphasic array of microtubules into a bipolar spindle at the onset of mitosis. +TIPs (« plus-end tracking proteins ») interact specifically with the "plus end" of growing microtubules where they regulate microtubule dynamics and their anchoring to multiple subcellular structures (vesicles, kinetochores, cellular cortex). Therefore, +TIPs are involved in essential processes such as spindle formation and orientation, chromosome segregation, and cell migration.

The mechanisms through which +TIPs localize at microtubule plus ends remain unclear, and different models have been proposed: copolymerization with tubulin dimers, recognition of a specific structure at microtubule ends, or transportation by motor proteins. Furthermore, essential questions are still open concerning the specific activity of +TIPs.

Our objectives are to understand how +TIPs interact at microtubule plus ends, and how these proteins regulate microtubule dynamics and their binding to subcellular targets. For these purposes, we are developing cell-free systems using purified components (+TIPs, tubulin, microtubule nucleating-centres). At the experimental level, we use optical video-microscopy and electron cryomicroscopy to associate structural events to particular dynamic behaviors. Two aspects are thus studied: (1) the effects of different +TIPs on microtubule dynamics and structure, and (2) the characterization of microtubule capture by +TIPs. We are currently interested in the following +TIPs:

  1. CLIP-170 (Cytoplasmic Linker Protein), a partner of the cytoplasmic dynein,
  2. EB1 (End-Binding 1), a partner of the APC (Adenomatous Polyposis Coli) tumour suppressor,
  3. XMAP215 (Xenopus Microtubule Associated Protein), a Xenopus protein involved in spindle formation.

Selected publications

  • EB1 interacts with outwardly curved and straight regions of the microtubule lattice
    Guesdon A., Bazile F., Buey R.M., Mohan R., Monier S., Rodríguez García R., Angevin M., Heichette C., Wieneke R., Tampé R., Duchesne L., Akhmanova A., Steinmetz M.O., and D. Chrétien
    Nature Cell Biology, 2016, Sept 12
    Pubmed - Springer Nature Sharing

  • Ensconsin/Map7 promotes microtubule growth and centrosome separation in Drosophila neural stem cells
    Gallaud E., Caous R., Pascal A., Bazile F., Gagné J-P., Huet S., Poirier G. G., Chrétien D., Richard-Parpaillon L., and R. Giet
    The Journal of Cell Biology, 2014, 204:1111-1121.
    Weblink

  • EB1 regulates microtubule dynamics and tubulin sheet closure in vitro
    Vitre, B., Coquelle, F. M., Heichette, C., Garnier, C., Chrétien, D. and I. Arnal
    Nature Cell Biology, 2008, 10:415-421.
    Pubmed

• Publié par : Denis CHRETIEN
  • Imprimer cette page

Facteurs impliqués dans la régulation de l'instabilité dynamique des microtubules

In vivo, l’instabilité dynamique est régulée par de nombreuses protéines, ce qui permet le remodelage très rapide du cytosquelette microtubulaire au cours du cycle cellulaire. Un exemple frappant est la réorganisation complète du réseau interphasique en fuseau bipolaire en début de mitose. Les +TIPs ("plus-end tracking proteins") interagissent spécifiquement à l’extrémité "plus" des microtubules où elles modulent leurs propriétés dynamiques ainsi que leurs interactions avec divers organites cellulaires (vésicules, kinétochores, cortex cellulaire). De ce fait, les +TIPs sont impliquées dans de nombreux processus comme la formation et l’orientation du fuseau mitotique, la ségrégation des chromosomes et la migration cellulaire.
 
Actuellement, les mécanismes de localisation des +TIPs aux bouts "plus" des microtubules sont mal compris, bien que plusieurs modèles aient été proposés : co-polymérisation avec la tubuline, reconnaissance d’une structure spécifique à l’extrémité des microtubules, ou transport par des moteurs moléculaires. De plus, les modes d’action précis de ces protéines restent peu connus à ce jour.
 
Notre objectif est de comprendre comment les +TIPs interagissent spécifiquement aux bouts "plus" des microtubules, et comment ces protéines régulent l’instabilité dynamique des microtubules ainsi que l’ancrage de ces derniers sur des cibles subcellulaires. Pour cela, nous réalisons des systèmes acellulaires à partir de composants purifiés (+TIPs, tubuline, centres nucléateurs de microtubules) en utilisant principalement deux approches complémentaires qui sont la vidéo-microscopie photonique et la cryomicroscopie électronique. Deux aspects sont ainsi étudiés : (1) les effets de différentes +TIPs sur la dynamique et la structure des microtubules, et (2) la caractérisation des mécanismes de capture des microtubules par les +TIPs. Actuellement, nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement aux +TIPs suivantes :

  1. CLIP-170 (Cytoplasmic Linker Protein), un partenaire de la dynéine cytoplasmique,
  2. EB1 (End-Binding 1), un partenaire de l’oncosuppresseur APC,
  3. XMAP215 (Xenopus Microtubule Associated Protein), une protéine du Xénope impliquée dans la formation du fuseau mitotique.

Publications séléctionnées

  • EB1 interacts with outwardly curved and straight regions of the microtubule lattice
    Guesdon A., Bazile F., Buey R.M., Mohan R., Monier S., Rodríguez García R., Angevin M., Heichette C., Wieneke R., Tampé R., Duchesne L., Akhmanova A., Steinmetz M.O., and D. Chrétien
    Nature Cell Biology, 2016, Sept 12
    Pubmed - Springer Nature Sharing

  • Ensconsin/Map7 promotes microtubule growth and centrosome separation in Drosophila neural stem cells
    Gallaud E., Caous R., Pascal A., Bazile F., Gagné J-P., Huet S., Poirier G. G., Chrétien D., Richard-Parpaillon L., and R. Giet
    The Journal of Cell Biology, 2014, 204:1111-1121.
    Weblink

  • EB1 regulates microtubule dynamics and tubulin sheet closure in vitro
    Vitre, B., Coquelle, F. M., Heichette, C., Garnier, C., Chrétien, D. and I. Arnal
    Nature Cell Biology, 2008, 10:415-421.
    Pubmed